About Me

My photo
This site is the inspiration of a former reporter/photographer for one of New England's largest daily newspapers and for various magazines. The intent is to direct readers to interesting political articles, and we urge you to visit the source sites. Any comments may be noted on site or directed to KarisChaf at gmail.

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Legal and illegal political corruption -- Beware of government’s power to intrude and do harm -- By Richard Rahn, The Washington Times

If a politician or government official takes a direct monetary bribe for granting a favor or sweetheart contract, do you think he should be sent to prison?

Such an activity is despicable, but it is usually far less costly to society than the legal forms of corruption, which undermine the integrity and respect for government that is necessary for a civil and prosperous society. Most legal corruption is all about increasing power for those in government.

This past Friday, the following amendment offered by Sen. Ted Cruz, Texas Republican, was defeated in the Senate Judiciary Committee:

Intentional discrimination by employee of the Internal Revenue Service

"(a) Offense. — It shall be unlawful for any officer of the Internal Revenue Service to, regardless of whether the officer or employee is acting under the color of law, willfully act with the intent to injure, oppress, threaten, intimidate or single out and subject to undue scrutiny for purposes of harassment any person or organization in any State —

(1) based solely or primarily on the political, economic, or social positions held or expressed by the person or organization; or

(2) because the person or organization has expressed a particular political, economic, or social position using any words or writing allowed by law."

It is hard to imagine anyone interested in good government being against such an amendment, because it is clearly designed to help prevent those in the IRS from abusing their power — which many have done.
Yet 10 senators, all Democrats, voted against it. They were: Sens. Patrick J. Leahy of Vermont, Dianne Feinstein of California, Charles E. Schumer of New York, Richard J. Durbin of Illinois, Sheldon Whitehouse of Rhode Island, Amy Klobuchar and Al Franken of Minnesota, Chris Coons of Delaware, Richard Blumenthal of Connecticut and Mazie K. Hirono of Hawaii.

(Click link below to read more)
READ MORE Sphere: Related Content

No comments:

Post a Comment